Quantcast
Product Reviews

Reelkandi.tv Video Player Publisher Review: Deceit, Non-Payment: Pt: 4

As promised in the last section of this Reelkandi.tv Video Player Publisher Review, this is the “nail in the coffin” segment of LinkedIn’s Reelkandi.tv. This is the part of the review where I, the publisher of Reelkandi.tv’s video player, had no hope of ever receiving payment for services rendered on our flat rate fee contract. It is the moment where hopelessness was cemented and where communication between two contracted companies was completely severed. 

Ben Affleck Rebecca Hall The Town

Ben Affleck Rebecca Hall The Town

The End

February 27, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now seven days past due.

On February 27, 2013 at 4:02 pm, I asked another organization hosting the Reelkandi.tv video player this question:

[Deleted]:

could I have the name and email address for your contact at Reelkandi?

Thanks.

I wanted to reach another employee within Reelkandi.tv, another Reeelkandi.tv representative. I did not want to talk behind my Reelkandi.tv representative’s back but I did want to speak with someone and get out the deleterious situation my Reelkandi.tv representative had created and was perpetuating.

On February 27, 2013 at 4:04 pm, the person in the other organization hosting the Reelkandi.tv video player sent this message:

Sure, I’ve copied [the first name of my Reelkandi.tv representative] onto the email

As you can imagine, I was not pleased to find out that their contact was my Reelkandi.tv contact.

On February 27, 2013 at 4:39 pm, I emailed the person in the other organization hosting the Reelkandi.tv video player this message:

[Deleted]:

“Sure, I’ve copied [the first name of my Reelkandi.tv representative] onto the email”

I wish you had not. I am having an issue with that Reelkandi employee.

Next time, just the name and the email address please. Thanks.

The Nail in the Coffin

On February 27, 2013 4:40 pm, the person in the other organization hosting the Reelkandi.tv video player sent this message:

Oh sorry, he is the CEO and is the only contact I have.

I could not believe it.

The person I had been enduring all this of tumoil from in Reelkandi.tv was the head of the organization.

A CEO was attempting to change the elements of a contract after the first pay period had come and gone on that contract.

The CEO of Reelkandi.tv, the figurehead, the one everybody else looked up to for modus operandi, etiquette, proper business conduct, had tried to alter contract terms when payment was due and was stonewalling on paying funds that were owed. Some of his emails had been signed CEO but it had never clicked in my mind since: a.) the first email he sent me was signed by a different title and b.) I was more concerned with the messages in the emails than how they were signed.

At that moment I knew it was hopeless. I went on LinkedIn and confirmed the validity of the emailed statement. My Reelkandi.tv representative was (and is) the CEO of Reelkandi.tv.

I had written emails that morning that I was going to send to Reelkand.tv politely asking for a new representative to be assigned to FilmBook’s account. After learning that my Reelkandi.tv representative was in fact the CEO, I knew those emails were pointless to send, that the situation was pointless.

My Reelkandi.tv representative never responded to the forwarded message from the person in the other organization hosting the Reelkandi.tv video player.

I deleted the Reelkandi.tv video player from the movie website hosting it that day.

March 1, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now nine days past due.

Remembering a good rule of thumb: not to get emotional about money, to maintain pose at all times, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative and the Reelkandi.tv embed employee one last time.

On March 1, 2013 at 12:49 am, I emailed Andi Super this message:

[Deleted]

I would like to thank you for choosing [deleted] to advertise on. At this time I would like to formally discontinue the contract between our two organizations, effective immediately.

On March 1, 2013 at 2:49 am, I emailed Reelkandi.tv embed employee this message:

Mr. [Deleted]:

thank you for all of your assistance when I sought to get a hold of [my Reelkandi.tv representative] regarding Reelkand.tv’s past due payment to my organization. It was very much appreciated and I hope that I did not put you in a bad position. That was not my intent. I hope all goes well for you in your endeavors.

I received no response to these emails.

Re-reading those emails, I am almost speechless at this companies’ business practices, its leadership, how publisher contracts, and publishers are handled. They did not even care that they lost a publisher of their video player or that there was an unresolved contract issue.

Next week, the final part of my Reelkandi.tv Video Player Publisher Review will be published. In that concluding segment, I will rate Reelkandi.tv’s publisher management and their payment/contract fulfillment. I will also provide my objective two cents on Reelkandi and give advice on dealing with organizations that follow Reelkandi.tv’s business practices.

Until then, a question:

  • Should I have kept emailing my Reelkandi’s representative requesting payment or was I right to end things when and where I did?

Leave your responses to my question in the comments section below.

Previous and future segments of this review:

About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started ProMovieBlogger to educate others on what he had learned through trial and error. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook (http://film-book.com), he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He also created and runs Trending Awards.com.