Product Reviews

Reelkandi.tv Video Player Publisher Review: Deceit, Non-Payment: Pt.3

On the thirtieth day of contracting with Reelkandi.tv as a publisher to host their video player for a flat rate fee, payment was do. As the title for this review implies, deceit was employed at some point during our contract. This is that point. Are you surprised? I was. It is the method of that surprise will be the most alarming to potential publishers of the Reelkandi.tv video player.

Rebecca Hall The Town Bank Robbery

Rebecca Hall The Town Bank Robbery

On the morning of February 20, 2013, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative at 8:53 am:

[deleted]:

its been thirty days since the Reelkandi video player has been installed on our website. When can we expect our payment today?

I received no response to this email.

At 2:03 pm on February 20, 2013, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative:

[deleted]:

did you receive my last email? I did not receive a response to it.

I received no response to this email.

At 4:33 pm on February 20, 2013, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative:

[deleted]:

today is the due date for our first payment from your organization for hosting the Reelkandi video player on our website (http://[deleted].com)  for a month. When can we expect payment?

I received no response to this email.

On February 20, 2013 at 5:10 pm, I emailed the Reelkand.tv employee that had emailed me about the Reelkandi.tv video player code this message:

Mr. [deleted]:

I emailed Andi Super a few times today but have not received a response from him. Is Andi still with your organization, is he well or do I need to contact someone else? Through [deleted] and myself, [deleted] and Reelkandi.tv entered into a contract 30 days ago to host Reelkandi.tv’s video player on our website (http://[deleted].com). Our first payment on that contract is due today. We have not received payment and we are unable to get into contact with [deleted]. Any assistance you can render in this regard will be appreciated.

Thank you.

On February 20, 2013 at 5:10 pm, I emailed Publisher Management at Reelkand.tv this message:

Dear Sir or Madam:

through [deleted] and myself, Filmbook and Reelkandi.tv entered into a contract 30 days ago to host Reelkandi.tv’s video player on our website (http://[deleted].com). At the end of each thirty day cycle, we are to be paid $[deleted] USD.

Our first payment on that contract is due today. We have not received payment and we are unable to get into contact with [deleted]. Any assistance you can render in this regard will be appreciated.

I emailed [deleted] a few times today but have not received a response from him. Is [deleted] still with your organization? If not, please put me into contact with a new representative from your organization. We wish to receive our first payment for services rendered as soon as possible.

Thank you for your time.

I received no response to this email.

I received this email on February 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm from the Reelkand.tv employee that had emailed me about the Reelkandi.tv video player code:

Dear Mr [deleted],

[deleted] is still very much with reelkandi.tv. He has been out of the office today and I have not had chance to speak with him myself, though.

I hope that he will return your call tomorrow.

Kind regards,

[deleted]

Sent from my iPad

This was one of the very scenarios I had feared would happen by not using a subscription link through Paypal or not being paid in advance.

February 21, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now one day past due.

My Reelkandi.tv representative emailed me back the next day, February 21, 2013, at 3:24 am and said:

[deleted], my stats dept are coming back to me with the information to check all is ok.

My immediate reaction was: What?

Al Pacino Dog Day Afternoon

Al Pacino Dog Day Afternoon

Our flat rate contract had nothing to do with statistics. There was only one variable: hosting the Reelkandi video player for thirty days.

Flat Rate as defined by Google: A charge that is the same in all cases, not varying in proportion with something.

Flat Rate as defined by Wikipedia: a pricing structure that charges a single fixed fee for a service, regardless of usage.

Flat Rate as defined by Cambridge Dictionaries Online: an amount that is charged or paid that does not change according to the amount of work done, or the number of times something is used.

Flat Rate as defined by Oxford Dictionaries: a charge that is the same in all cases, not varying in proportion with something.

Knowing this, I was taken aback by the reply I received from my Reelkandi.tv representative. The both of us had agreed on a flat rate fee hosting contract before the Reelkandi.tv video player was embedded on [deleted] on January 22, 2013.

This stats element was something new, something not discussed previously about this (flat rate) contract. He had added this in after the thirty days had come and gone, after the first pay period for our flat fee contract had passed.

On February 21, 2013 at 5:06 am, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative back:

[deleted]:

the first payment is now one day past due.

The next payment is due on March 22, 2013.

I received no response to this email.

On February 21, 2013 at 9:27 am, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative:

[deleted]:

this is the very issue that I wanted to avoid: late payments. My organization would have been paid yesterday if we had both agreed to use Paypal.

If you would like to use Paypal from this point on, please let me know.

The payment link: [deleted]

I would not have to stop working on my site to write you emails if we did.

I received no response to this email.

This situation was my fault. I broke my own rules, common sense rules and trusted an unknown entity to uphold their word and fulfill their obligation.

February 22, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now two days past due.

On February 22, 2013 at 1:14 pm, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative:

[deleted]:

where are with our business arrangement?

I received no response to this email.

February 25, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now five days past due.

On February 25, 2013 9:06 am I emailed the Reelkandi.tv embed code employee, at 9:11 am I emailed Publisher Management at Reelkandi.tv, at 9:14 am I emailed CEO at Reelkand.tv, and at 9:24 am I emailed Info at Reelkandi.tv. The last email was entitled: “Reelkandi Video Player on [deleted] – Past Due Payment Query” and consisted of:

Dear Sir or Madam:

on Wednesday, February 20, 2013, thirty days had past since the Reelkandi video player was installed on [deleted].

As agreed upon, payment was due on that date.

That morning (February 20, 2013), I emailed [deleted]’s business contact within Reelkandi.tv, [deleted], Group Head Commercial & Media, and asked when during that day we could expect to receive payment, the first payment of our contract.

He sent back this reply:

“[deleted], my stats dept are coming back to me with the information to check all is ok.”

It is now February 25, 2013.

My last two emails to [deleted] have gone unanswered and we have not received payment yet for services rendered.

The first payment is now 5 days past due.

Would it be possible for someone to look into this matter? If [deleted] has fallen ill or did not receive my last two emails on Thursday

(February 21, 2013) and Friday (February 22, 2013) of last week, could someone inform him that I did try to contact him and that payment has still not been received?

Your assistance will be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

The last email (Reelkandi Video Player on [deleted] – Past Due Payment Query) is the email my Reelkandi.tv representative replied to on February 25, 2013 at 9:28 am. He wrote:

[Deleted], we are checking all the stats we got from you as they were a lot lower than you anticipated, which meant the payments would potentially be over generous. As soon as the report is done within the next 24 hours i will send it over and we can go thru it.

Once again, I found myself flabbergasted. A good business deal turned bad was turning into a quagmire.

On February 25, 2013 at 2:05 pm, I emailed my Reelkandi.tv representative back this message:

[deleted]:

statistics have nothing to do with our contract. If you remember, we ([deleted] and Reelkandi.tv) opted on a flat fee ($[deleted]) for hosting your video player per month. I can send you the email in which we both agreed on the flat fee per month. A stats check is irrelevant to our contract, has nothing to do with it, and has no bearing on it.

In 24 hours, your first payment will be past due by six days.

I hope this is one-time hiccup between our two organizations that will never be repeated.

On February 25, 2013 at 2:51 pm, my Reelkandi.tv representative replied to my message:

[Deleted], you quoted your stats and I’m querying the amount which may have potentially fallen very short of what you quoted, if this is the case, then that’s what the contract was based on. Having said that, let me see the stats first. A contract is something based on points we both made that wee conditional.

Sent from my iPad

February 26, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now six days past due.

On February 26, 2013 at 9:37 am, I replied with this message:

[deleted]:

1.) The stats I quoted you in January 2013 were for the time period of December 2012 – January 2013, not for this month (February 2013).

Stats change per month.

I also sent you a screenshot of our Google Analytics traffic statistics for that time period (December 2012 – January 2013) on January 16, 2013. The attachment was entitled: [deleted] December 2012 Stats – Audience Overview – Google Analytics.png.

You were fully aware of our stats before we entered into our flat fee agreement. Any statements to the contrary are false.

2.) There was no statistics variable in our flat fee agreement.

Once again, stats have nothing to do with our flat fee contract.

We never agreed: a.) to wait for stats or b.) that stats were a variable in our flat fee (negating the entire purpose of a flat fee) before we were paid for hosting the Reelkandi video player. I have checked all of our email correspondences for these stipulations in our flat fee contract before our contract was finalized on January 22, 2013. There was no mention of stats being part of our flat fee agreement or of waiting for stats before we were paid through our flat fee agreement.

Payment is now six days past due.

Please send payment today.

Thank you.

I received no response to this email.

What response could he have given but the funds that Reelkand.tv owed [deleted]? I was completely correct regarding the terms of our contract and he knew it.

February 27, 2013

The first payment on our flat fee contract was now seven days past due.

On February 27, 2013 at 8:33 am, I sent this message to my Reelkandi.tv representative:

[deleted]:

when will the first payment ($[deleted]) be sent for [deleted]’s hosting of the Reelkandi video player (from January 22, 2013 to February 20, 2013)?

I received no response to this email.

At this point, not only was Reelkandi.tv not paying on a contract they owed on, their Publisher management employees were pliantly ignoring one of their publishers’ email communications. Their employees also tried to change the details of a contract after the first pay period had lapsed. Some might call that a bait and switch (a form of fraud used in retail sales but also practiced in other contexts…The intention of the bait-and-switch is to encourage purchases of substituted goods, making consumers satisfied with the available stock offered, as an alternative to a disappointment or inconvenience of acquiring no goods (or bait) at all,)  but I do not want to label it (legal clarification: I am not saying bait and switch is what Reelkandi.tv and/or its employees perpetrated).

That being said, Reelkandi agreed on one type of contract and then tried to swap it out for a contract based on the page views the Reelkandi.tv video player received after the first pay period had come and gone. What would you call that? Was I (a Reelkandi.tv video player publisher) enticed with one type of contract only to have a substitute introduced when payment was due? I was.

The proof is in the above emails.

I do not think that Reelkandi.tv or its employees counted on me saving each and every email that they sent me or that I sent them but I did. Its a good business practice, one that I am grateful for.

This business practice has allowed me to bring Reelkandi.tv’s business practices and publisher management conduct to you in dismal, black and grey colors.

The next part of our Reelkandi.tv video player publisher review can accurately be referred to as “the nail in the coffin”.

Until then, a question:

  • If someone tried to change a business contract after the first pay period had come and gone, what would you do?

Please leave your answer to the question below.

Previous and future segments of this review:

Disclaimer: This review is not meant to denigrate, defame, or to assassinate the character of the company in question or its employees. This review is for educational purposes and only represents the facts.

About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started ProMovieBlogger to educate others on what he had learned through trial and error. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook (http://film-book.com), he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He also created and runs Trending Awards.com.

Send this to a friend