Product Reviews

Reelkandi.tv Video Player Publisher Review: Deceit, Non-Payment: Pt.2

When this Reelkandi Video Player Publisher Review began, I said that I would touch upon certain points as Publisher of the video ad and branded video player.  Three of those points will initially be dealt with in this section of the review, namely contacting Reelkandi’s publisher management staff, contracting with Reekandi.tv, and embedding the Reelkandi video player on a website.

Whenever I see a web application on another person’s website, I think two things: is this cool? and will this work on one my websites? I am always on the look out for additional revenue streams and way to maximize the ad space on all of my websites. Reelkandi’s video player looks good and since its content covers TV and movie stars (as well as special events, interviews), I realized it would fit on one of my movie websites.

Lauren Cohan Danai Gurira

Lauren Cohan Danai Gurira

Implementing the Reelkandi video player on one my websites was the first step to a possible long-lasting business relationship with Reelkandi.tv. If successful, I planned on implementing the player on this website and on others after that. Those plans never came to fruition because the first hosting contract was never fulfilled by Reelkandi.

Contacting Reelkandi’s Publisher Management Team

When I first saw Reelkandi’s video player on other websites, I quickly endeavored to forge a mutually beneficially relationship of my own with the UK-based organization. On January 9, 2013, I went to Reelkandi’s website, found their contact information (“Contact”, right-hand corner), and emailed them that I was interested in hosting their web application.

I received a prompt reply from them the next day.

From January 10, 2013  (11:04 am) – January 15, 2013 (5:17 am), their Group Commercial Director and I went back and forth with emails about possibly talking on the phone about beginning a business relationship, ad placement, the make-up of the ad itself, ad load time, currency exchange rates, et cetera.

On January 15, 2013 at 6:37 pm, I emailed:

Mr. Super:

I see your point about the ad placement. It would look best and not compete if it were under “Recent Articles”.

There is a third payment option, one that will be far easier on the both of us and expedite matters. You pay us one flat rate per month for the video player being on our site like any other ad. That way nothing has to be figured out or adjusted. That is how we handle all of our other ads.

I should have immediately informed you of this yesterday. That was my mistake.

Let me make up for that error now.

We will incorporate reelkandi.tv into an upcoming Blu-ray publicity giveaway. Example: click on the video player and let us know your favorite content in the comments section. That is only one example. There are dozens of others ways to advertise reelkandi.tv and its services in a giveaway, including following you on Twitter, Facebook, etc. Let us know what you would like and any other ideas you might have.

Since it is 300×300 video player (I believe those are the dimensions), the flat rate would be $[deleted] per month. (Would it be possible to integrate it into our site through color matching? It will look far more organic that way. It will be perceived as an extension of the site, be less conspicuous, and garner far more clicks.)

Send us the video player HTML code, we will send you the Paypal link, and lets see how the video player looks on Filmbook.

The Flat Rate Contract

On January 15, 2013 at 6:54 pm, Andrew Super emailed:

I don’t have an issue with one flat rate, however, the player still needs to be at least 50% above the fold and if it’s under recent articles (based on she that section is right now) we would be well below the fold. Our brand sponsors wouldn’t allow for that, that’s the issue.

Andi Super
CEO
Reelkandi.TV

Contract Point 1.) We established that we were preceding with a flat rate contract.

For edification purposes, a flat rate is “a pricing structure that charges a single fixed fee for a service, regardless of usage.”

On January 16, 2013 at 3:59 am, Andi Super emailed:

In order for us to agree we need proof of decembers stats from independent source as we cant agree to a fix fee withou knowing what we are paying for

Andrew G. Super
Group Commercial Director
Reelkandi.tv

On January 16, 2013 at 9:10 am, I emailed:

No problem.

You will find the numbers attached (Google Analytics).

Attached to the email were [deleted]’s Google Analytic pageviews for December 16, 2012 – January 15, 2013 (entitled: [deleted] December 2012 Stats – Audience Overview – Google Analytics.png ).

On January 16, 2013 at 10:43 am, Andi Super emailed:

[Deleted], thanks for that.

so we are prepared to pay $[deleted] fixed rate for being on the site on all key pages, (i.e. the whole site) to which we can pay paypal. we will pay 30 days from invoice each month.

Are we good to go?

On January 16, 2013 at 11:30 am, I emailed:

Yes.

Please pay through this Paypal link: https://www.paypal.com/…

Once you have paid, send us the HTML for the video player.

If you can color match it to our site before sending the HTML, that would be great. Thank you.

On January 16, 2013 at 2:51 pm, Andi Super emailed:

[Deleted], sorry but I said previously we would never pay upfront without a credit check on the business and sufficient track record financially. At best we can pay end of a month of activity

Andi Super
CEO
Reelkandi.TV

On January 16, 2013 at 5:08 pm, Andrew Super emailed:

[Deleted], I have spoken with our CFO and we can only pay after pages have been served at the end of the month. We don’t pay upfront for any global publishers, I hope you understand.

Andi Super
CEO
Reelkandi.TV

Contract Point 2.) We established that the flat rate contract would be paid at the end of every month (30 Days).

On January 16, 2013 at 7:50 pm, I emailed:

Mr. Super:

let me see if I have this correct.

You want us, at the end of every month, to email you for our payment ($[deleted]) instead of everything being automated?

Do I understand you correctly?

On January 17, 2013 at 5:34 am, Andrew Super emailed:

Yes

Andrew G. Super
Group Commercial Director
Reelkandi.tv

Contract Point 3.) We established that I had to email them (Andrew Super and/or Reelkandi) on the thirtieth day of hosting for payment.

On January 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm, I emailed:

Mr. Super:

we have similar concerns with cashflow and financial issues.

Here is one of the basic problems with what you suggest. We have more pressing concerns with the site than ad sale payments. That is why we automate site payments coming in and payments going out.

This allows us to set budgets, employee pay, and other expenditures.

If we have to email you every month for a payment and then wait for that payment over holidays, vacations, long weekends, birthdays, who knows what, everything gets thrown off. By automating it through Paypal, all of those payment hiccups and delays go out the window. We get paid the same amount at the same time on the same day every month no matter what through Paypal. We do not have to contact anyone through email and we do not have to wait for a payment.

You are asking us to throw all that, and the piece of mind that comes with it, aside. If we had been doing business for five years and you made that request (I don’t know why you would), we would probably accept as a courtesy.

This is not that scenario. In this scenario, just starting out with you, Paypal is our security blanket, our non-biased intermediary that makes sure everything proceeds smoothly financially.

You say that we are unique in that we will be getting paid before everyone else.

You are unique to us in your non-Paypal request. Usually it is the company seeking ads on our site that suggests Paypal payments, so much so that we have incorporated Paypal into how we do business.

We need everything smooth and on-time with no hiccups. You can not guarantee that. Paypal can.

The last thing we want is that: your payment is last for some reason and we take down your ad because we haven’t been paid on-time then you email us asking where the ad is.

Paypal always helps us avoid that scenario with clients. That is why they request it and why we use it. It is easier on everybody.

If we can overcome this last, minute hurdle, your video player will be on our site today.

Talk to whoever you have to. Tell them Paypal.

One final item: we may be able to move the video player into the top spot on the left side bar where the 300×250 ad currently resides. If we can (per our business arrangements with other advertisers), it would be an additional $[deleted] per month.

On Fri, January 18, 2013 at 3:31 am, Andi Super emailed:

[Deleted], I appreciate all your points but we can’t accommodate any one publisher. It’s a shame as we both want to do business. Your site traffic is very small for us, of course it will grow and it’s a good site to go on, hence our interest but we can’t possibly accommodate any one publisher, in order for us to operate. You know my position, I know yours and it doesn’t look like it could come together at this rate. Appreciate all your thoughts and share your passion for the growth of the site. If the stance changes your side or mine for that matter then let’s reconnect.

Andi Super
CEO
Reelkandi.TV

On January 18, 2013 at 5:29 am, I emailed:

Mr. Super:

one of us has to out-stretch his hand and except the others’ proposal. In this situation, I will be the one to do so.

We would like to place your video player in the top spot on the left sidebar for the additional price mentioned in the last email.

Let us know what the next step is.

On January 18, 2013 at 5:33 am, Andi Super emailed:

then please embed the player as a test and lets see, and also send through the actual colour of what you want to the player to be….and we can do that…an actual sample colour would be best rather than description…

On January 18, 2013 at 10:02 am, I emailed:

Mr. Super:

you need to send us the code to embed please. Thank you.

We were sent the code by another Reelkandi.tv employee. Emails on the colors present in the web applications ensued. The emails amounted to the fact that the color modifications I wanted were not presently available but would be in the future.

On January 22, 2013 at 7:43 am, the aforementioned other Reelkandi employee emailed me this:

Hi [Deleted],

please find the embed code attached. Please let me know if you have any questions.

Kind regards,

[Deleted]

I took the emailed HMTL code (entitled: [deleted]_22Jan2013.rtf) for Reelkandi.tv’s video player and embedded the player by going into the CSS files on the back-end of the site that was hosting the player. I placed the Reelkandi code in the appropriate place. I then saved the CSS file.

I cleaned the system cache just in case and viewed the Reelkandi video player in Firefox and Chrome. It looked good and worked well. Loading time was minimal. I deleted a few other ads to decrease page load time.

On January 22, 2013 at 10:56 am, I emailed the Reelkandi employee:

The code has been added to our site and the video player is online.

From this point, my end of the contract began: host the Reelkandi web application at the top of the left sidebar of one of my websites for thirty days for a flat rate. On the thirtieth day, we would be paid the agree upon flat rate fee.

During this time period, contacting Reelkandi’s publisher management staff, contracting with Reekandi.tv, and embedding the Reelkandi video player on a website had all run as smoothly as ice. The problems with contacting Reelkandi’s publisher management and contracting with Reelkandi didn’t arise until day thirty of hosting the Reelkandi video player. On that day I asked for our agreed upon payment for hosting the Reelkandi video player.

That will be discussed in the next section of this Reelkandi video player publisher review.

Previous and future segments of this series:

Until then, a question:

  • What is your definition of a contract and did my contract with Reelkandi fit that definition?

Please share you answers below.

Disclaimer: This review is not meant to denigrate, defame, or to assassinate the character of the company in question or its employees. This review is for educational purposes and only represents the facts.

Source: Wikipedia

About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started ProMovieBlogger to educate others on what he had learned through trial and error. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook (http://film-book.com), he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He also created and runs Trending Awards.com.

Traffic

Increase Traffic to your Website with a widget like this from Zergnet.

Send this to friend