Product Reviews Site Owners and Leaders

BlueFur: Web Hosting Review, Bad Conduct, Content Wiped Out: Part 1

BlueFur Web Hosting, BlueFur Dedicated Server, and BlueFur Personal Customer Service. Advertised and lauded on BlueFur.com home page, these were all things I unfortunately experienced from the Canadian web hosting company. This will  be a long, sad story and the post about it will be lengthy and melancholy as well (though it will not begin that way), broken into multiple parts so they can be read in easily digestible segments. What I have to say is important to any webmaster seeking hosting or to one thinking of switching hosting companies.

Underneath The Cover

The reason for this series is to inform through my experiences, to educate on what to look for in a web host and web hosting for your website. As the little guy, as a person starting out, this is very important as there are wolves ready to pounce on you if they catch the scent of a ripe and maiden pigeon. Through this series you will bear witness to nightmare web hosting conduct at the hands of my former website host and myself (“Call me [Pigeon]. Some years ago—never mind how long precisely”), the unawares punching bag and victim of highly dubious business practices. Through this series you will learn how to pick the right host so that what happened to me will never happen to you or others thinking of acquiring a web host for their website.

There are many words I could use to describe my experience with BlueFur, my first web hosting company, but I will not. I will keep a civil tongue lest it be ripped out by the root by lawyers over libelous accusations and stretchers. Here you will find the truth of what happened to me at their (expletive deleted) hands by their own hand (I saved Every. Single. Email.).

BlueFur Logo

BlueFur Logo

In the Beginning 

My introduction into the webmaster world started with John Chow. I read an article showcasing John Chow in Entrepreneur Magazine (the February 2008 issue) and decided to start my first movie website soon after.  I started it on February 7, 2008. I read John Chow’s eBook. It had many useful tips, especially for someone new to the field like I was (the inspiration for my own how to guide: Start A Movie Website: WordPress Edition). Under “Domains” in John Chow’s eBook was a suggestion for a hosting company called BlueFur.com. I looked at their website. I looked at the offerings and decided to go with a service entitled Managed Blog Hosting. Since I was new to websites, I figured I needed all the help I could get. I automated my payments so that I would always be on time with them and my BlueFur services would never be interrupted. Everything went well for almost a year. When I needed help with a plug-in or was having some issue with the movie website, I emailed BlueFur (submitted a ticket) and within a reasonable amount of time, the issue was ironed out for me or I was given instructions on how to do so myself.

I had learned many things from January 2008 to November 30, 2008. I made many contacts through the medium, some of which I would even consider friends. I was about to celebrate my one year anniversary in January 2009 with over 400 posts published during the aforementioned timeframe. Our movie website was being spidered by 12-16 bots per day and it was getting nice hits from Google (what I thought were nice hits at the time). The movie website had a Page Rank of 4, had over 658 modified images in 404 posts, 78 (400-1700 word) Film Reviews, a fair amount of comments (in my opinion), and there were some cool links pointing to the site as well. I had put in countless hours modifying the php files of the site, social networking, you name it. I poured everything I had learned and was learning about webmastering, publishing articles online, search engine optimization, and running a business into that movie website. It was not the best or most high-tech movie website on the Internet but it was mine. It was my baby. I had given birth to it.

All of that ended on November 30, 2008 because of BlueFur, my web hosting company at the time.

Coming Up

The next segments of this web hosting series can easily be heralded as: “Here comes the pain baby! Here comes the pain!” – Brian De Palma, Snake Eyes, but first a question:

  • Have you every had trouble with your web hosting company before?

Please feel free to share that story below.

About the author

Rollo Tomasi

A Political Science and MBA grad who started ProMovieBlogger to educate others on what he had learned through trial and error. Cinema and TV addict. Former writer at Empire Movies, Blogcritics, and Alternative Film Guide. In addition to writing for FilmBook (http://film-book.com), he also edits the copy published on the website, manages its writing staff, manages the back-end operations, site finances, its social network accounts, and works with publicists, actors, and companies on press coverage and promotions. He also created and runs Trending Awards.com.

Video

Uniquely strategize progressive markets rather than frictionless manufactured products. Collaboratively engineer reliable.

Advertisement

Advertisement Small

Follow Me

Collaboratively harness market-driven processes whereas resource-leveling internal or "organic" sources. Competently formulate.

Calendar

September 2017
M T W T F S S
« May    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

RSS Meks Blog

  • Free fall wallpapers download September 21, 2017
    These free fall wallpapers are just waiting to be picked up, just in time for re-freshening your work space! The post Free fall wallpapers download appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • The latest Facebook algorithm change and it’s affect on your website September 19, 2017
    You just can’t win with it! See how the latest Facebook algorithm change is affecting your website content presence and why you need to come up with an even better plan. The post The latest Facebook algorithm change and it’s affect on your website appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • How to fix Facebook Thumbnail in WordPress September 14, 2017
    Ever wondered how to fix Facebook Thumbnail in WordPress or any other website platform? Here are some quickest and most common ways to do it. The post How to fix Facebook Thumbnail in WordPress appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • Embed YouTube video in WordPress September 12, 2017
    For all of you who wondered how to embed YouTube video in WordPress, here are 3 tips to master it in no time! The post Embed YouTube video in WordPress appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • What is image alt text and what it does for SEO? September 7, 2017
    Take a look at our guide to image alt text and how to use it properly. The post What is image alt text and what it does for SEO? appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • 7 text editor tools that will improve your writing September 5, 2017
    No matter how good you’re writing, these text editor tools are designed to help you stand out and give 110% of your content marketing effort. The post 7 text editor tools that will improve your writing appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • 15 top free photo websites for your online projects August 31, 2017
    Are you on the lookout for free photo websites for your next article, blog post or project? The post 15 top free photo websites for your online projects appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • What are photo licenses and what do they mean? August 29, 2017
    For all of you who ever wondered about photo licenses, their meaning, and permissions, we’ve gathered all the useful information that can help you understand them better. The post What are photo licenses and what do they mean? appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • Using WordPress for e-learning – 4 reasons not to overlook August 24, 2017
    If it can guide missiles, you can surely use WordPress for elearning, don’t you think? The post Using WordPress for e-learning – 4 reasons not to overlook appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic
  • What are Twitter chats and how can they help your business? August 22, 2017
    Did you know that something that simple as Twitter chats can help you in your business and overall personal growth? The post What are Twitter chats and how can they help your business? appeared first on Meks.
    Ivana Cirkovic

Text

Distinctively utilize long-term high-impact total linkage whereas high-payoff experiences. Appropriately communicate 24/365.

Send this to a friend